Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of State > Professional Licensing > Boards & Commissions > Pharmacy

State Board of Pharmacy 

 

The State Board of Pharmacy regulates the practice of pharmacy in Pennsylvania. The Board registers pharmacy interns, licenses pharmacists and pharmacies and issues to eligible pharmacists the authorization to administer injectable medications, biologicals and immunizations. The Board is charged with passing upon initial qualifications for licensure and with imposing sanctions against persons and businesses who violate the Pharmacy Act. The Board’s regulations govern practice standards; drug storage; security and dispensing requirements; facility requirements; licensure requirements; internships; and continuing education.

Citation: Pharmacy Act (Act 699 of 1961), Act of September 27, 1961, P.L. 1700, as amended, 63 P.S. § 390-1 et seq. Regulations of the State Board of Pharmacy, 49 PA. CODE, Chapter 27.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 OPIOID EDUCATION FOR PHARMACIST APPLICATIONS AND RENEWALS SUBMITTED

AFTER JULY 1, 2017

Section 9.1(a) of ABC-MAP* requires that all prescribers or dispensers, as defined in Section 3 of ABC-MAP, applying for licensure complete at least 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. Pharmacists fall within ABC-MAP’s definition of prescribers or dispensers.

 

Requirements for initial applicants

Pharmacist applicants seeking licensure on or after July 1, 2017, must document, within one year from issuance of the license to practice pharmacy, that they completed this education either as part of the applicant’s professional degree educational program or a Board-approved continuing education program. This 4 hours of Board-approved education needs to be completed only once.

 
 

Renewals  

To renew a license to practice pharmacy for the next renewal period, Section 9.1(a)(2) of ABC-MAP requires that all pharmacists complete at least two hours of continuing education in pain management, the identification of addiction or in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. The continuing education requirements of ABC-MAP will count towards the total number of hours of continuing education required for renewal. This two-hour requirement needs to be completed only once per renewal period. This continuing education must be taken from a Board-approved continuing education provider in accordance with Section 27.32 of the Board’s regulations and its completion attested to when applying for renewal.

 

 

*The Achieving Better Care by Monitoring All Prescriptions Program Act (ABC-MAP)(also known as Act 124 of 2016), 35 P.S. § 872.3, is available on the Legislature’s website at:

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/uconsCheck.cfm?yr=2016&sessInd=0&act=124.

 

Section 27.32 of the Board’s Regulations are available on the Board’s website at: http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pharmacy/Pages/Board-Laws-and-Regulations.aspx.