January 16, 2024

## TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

This letter is in response to your letter requesting information on the requirements for licensure of physicians and other allied health professionals and how primary verification of credentials is conducted by the Board. The following is provided:

## All Professions:

- Education Form in the application must be completed by the school and sent directly from the school to the Board.
- Licensure examination Scores must be sent directly from the examination agency to the board.
- A query of the Federation of State Medical Boards is done by the Board on all initial licensure and reactivation applications for physicians and physician assistants.

## **Physicians and Surgeons:**

• Completion of AOA Approved Internship – A form in the application must be completed by the hospital(s) and sent directly from the hospital to the Board.

<u>Federation of State Medical Boards, Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS)</u> - Verification of education/credentials through FCVS is accepted by the Board for physicians and physician assistants. The FCVS must be sent directly from the Federation of State Medical Boards to the Board.

Sincerely,

Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic Medicine

## PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE **Licensure Verification & Application Information**

OF

Wł

what licenses does the Board Issue?
OS(Physician), PA-C(Physician Assistant), RT(Respiratory Therapist), AK(Acupuncturist), ATC(Athletic Trainer), PERF(Perfusionist), and GC (Genetic Counselors)
What is the period of time a license is valid in Pennsylvania?
2 Years—All licenses expire on the same date
What is the biennial period?
Physicians, Physician Assistants, and Acupuncturists - November 1, EVEN to October 31, EVEN All other license classes – January 1, ODD to December 31, EVEN
Does the Board provide a grace period to its licensed practitioners when their license expires?
Νο
Is Continuing Education required by the Board?
Yes
Initial Licensure:
All licensees regulated by the Board must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.
All prescribers or dispensers applying for licensure/approval must complete at least 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. Applicants must document, within one year from issuance of the licensure/approval, that they completed this education either as part of an initial education program, a stand-along course from a Board-approved course provider, or a continuing education course from an approved continuing education provider.
Renewal:
All licensees regulated by the Board must complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.
Additional Continuing Education is required for the following classes:
OS – Physician and Surgeons RT – Respiratory Therapists PERF – Perfusionists GC – Genetic Counselors
Specific requirements per license class are posted on the Board's website at www.dos.pa.gov/med
Can a license be renewed/reactivated prior to completion of continuing education?
No
Does the Board have a website where license information can be verified?
Yes at <u>www.pals.pa.gov/verify</u>



How often is the information on your website updated?	
	Dail
Is there a fee to obtain written verification of a license to another licensing board with issue date, expiration date, c status and possible disciplinary information and what is the fee?	urrent
	Yes
Certification/Verification of Licensur	e - \$15
Requests must be submitted online at <u>www.pals</u> .	pa.gov
Is the information on the website the same information that would be provided in a verification of licensure?	
	Ye
Are disciplinary actions available on the Board's website?	
	Ye
Is the information provided on the Board's website considered electronically secure as well as a primary source license verification?	
Is the Board's website considered a secure site?	Ye
How often is information regarding verification of licensure on the Board's website updated?	Ye
	8 hour
Is the Board's current Newsletter as well as previous versions available on the website?	
If the applicant has a license in another state, do you verify current status prior to issuing a license?	Ye
	Ye
Does the Board verify all education/graduation (primary source verification directly from the school to the Board) p issuing a license?	prior to
	Yes
Does the Board accept the Federation of State Medical Boards FCVS credentials verification service?	
Yes, for physicians and physician ass However, Additional Documents Are Re	
Does the Board conduct a query of the Federation of State Medical Boards on all initial applications and reactivatio	Ye
Does the Board conduct a query of the Federation of State Medical Boards on all initial applications and reactivatio Does the Board verify examination scores (primary source verification directly from the examination agency to the E prior to issuing a license?	Ye Board)
Does the Board verify examination scores (primary source verification directly from the examination agency to the E	
Does the Board verify examination scores (primary source verification directly from the examination agency to the E	3oard) <b>Ye</b>



Can we obtain a list of all licensed practitioners on a CD/Disk/Emailed? Is there a fee?

Yes – Go to www.pals.pa.gov - Other Services – List Sales

Is disciplinary information available?

Yes – This information is available on the Board's website – <u>www.pals.pa.gov</u> - Verify a License – Disciplinary Search.

For copies of an action(s), contact the Prothonotary's Office at 717-772-2686

Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic Medicine