
(12/2016) 
 

 

 

SSTTAATTEE  BBOOAARRDD  OOFF  OOSSTTEEOOPPAATTHHIICC  MMEEDDIICCIINNEE    

  

RREEAACCTTIIVVAATTIIOONN  oorr  SSTTAATTUUSS  CCHHAANNGGEE  AAPPPPLLIICCAATTIIOONN      

AALLLLIIEEDD  HHEEAALLTTHH  PPRROOFFEESSSSIIOONNAALLSS  
                                                                                                                                                                                                   

 

Send to:      

 

STATE BOARD OF  

OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE 

P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA 17105-2649 

www.dos.pa.gov/ost 

or 

2601 NORTH THIRD STREET 

HARRISBURG, PA  17110 

 

 

Full Name 
 

Last First Middle 

 

 

Address 
 

 

 

 

Address 
 

 

 

 

Address 
 

City State ZIP 

 

 

Email: 
 

 
 

 

License No. 
 

 

 

 

Telephone No. 
 

 

Name Change 

 
For a name change, indicate new name below and attach an 8 ½ x 11 photocopy of a legal document verifying the name change (i.e., marriage 
certificate, divorce decree, legal document indicating retaking of a maiden name, etc.). 
 
 
New Name:    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

LICENSES EXPIRE EVERY EVEN NUMBERED YEAR  

REGARDLESS OF REINSTATEMENT DATE 
 

 

REQUESTING INACTIVE STATUS: 
 

 

 CURRENTLY ACTIVE STATUS REQUESTING INACTIVE STATUS. 

 

I do not wish to practice my profession and wish to place my license/certification on an inactive status.  I understand that to reactivate 
my license/certification I will need to meet the continuing education requirement mandated by my profession’s law and/or regulations 
as well as any other re-entry training/testing or skills assessment require by the Board.  

 

YOU MUST RETURN YOUR WALL AND WALLET CARD LICENSES.  NO FEE IS REQUIRED. 
 

 

APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: 

1. 

Enclose a check or money order, in the appropriate amount listed below, made payable to the "Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania."   If you have been practicing in Pennsylvania beyond the expiration date, include a late fee of $5 per month 
or part of a month. 

FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.   Check or money order must be in “US funds.”  Note:  A processing fee of $20.00 will 
be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment.  Your 
cancelled check is your receipt of payment. 

BIENNIAL REGISTRATION FEES 
 

 

 

 

 Acupuncturist  ---------- $25 

 Athletic Trainer ---------- $37 

 Genetic Counselor ---------- $125       **Fee includes $75 renewal fee + $50 reactivation fee. 

 Perfusionist ---------- $100       **Fee includes $50 renewal fee + $50 reactivation fee. 

 Physician Assistant ---------- $10 

 Respiratory Therapist ---------- $25 
 

 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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2. 
 

Complete the legal questionnaire. 
 

3. 

 

If documents will be submitted to the Board under a name different from your present name, submit a copy of the legal 
document evidencing the name change (i.e., marriage license, divorce decree, etc.). 
 

4. 
 

Complete the Verification of Practice / Non-Practice form.   
 

 
5. 

 

Attach a current Curriculum Vitae listing all periods of employment or unemployment (i.e., child rearing, research, etc.) from 
the expiration date of the license to present.  The list must be in chronological order, include the month and year, and 
indicate the state/territory in which the employment occurred. 
 

6. 

Provide an official notification of information (Self Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank.  Please refer to the NPDB 

website for additional information.  When you receive the "Response to your Self Query," forward the entire report 

directly to the Board Office.  You should make a copy for your records. 
 

 

             Continuing Education 
 

 7. 

 

ALL HEALTH-RELATED LICENSEES :   Act 31 of 2014 requires that licensees complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved 
continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements.  Details can be found at www.dos.pa.gov   For a list 
of Board-approved providers, choose the “Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training” link.  Verification of completion must 
be sent electronically directly from the course provider.  Please note that it may take 7-10 days for the provider to submit the 
records to the Board office. 
 

8. 

 

FOR ATHLETIC TRAINERS ONLY:   In order to reactivate your license and be in compliance with the Board’s continuing 
education requirements, you will need to provide a copy of your current BOC certification. 
 

9. 

 

FOR GENETIC COUNSELORS, PERFUSTIONISTS,  & RESPIRATORY THERAPISTS:   In order to reactivate your license 
and be in compliance with the Board’s continuing education requirements, you will need to provide proof of meeting the 
Board’s continuing education requirements. Continuing education requirements can be found at www.dos.pa.gov/ost. 
 
 

10. 

 

FOR PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS ONLY:   In order to reactivate your license and be in compliance with the Board’s continuing 
education requirements, you will need to provide a copy of your current NCCPA certification. 

 

 

 

Professional Liability Insurance 
 

 
11. 

 
 

 

ALL Acupuncturists & Genetic Counselors: Shall provide proof of professional liability insurance coverage through self-
insurance, personally purchased insurance or insurance provided by your employer for the minimum amount of 

$1,000,000.00 per occurrence or claims made. This proof of insurance/certificate must include your name and indicate 

that you are covered under this policy while performing services governed by your license in the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania.     
 

 

PLEASE NOTE  
 

 
If this application is not completed within six months, updates of certain sections and/or supporting documents will be required. 
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2 
 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ost


(12/2016) 
 

 

LEGAL QUESTIONS 
 

THE FOLLOWING LICENSE REACTIVATION QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If you answer "YES" to #2 through 

#12, provide complete details on a separate sheet as well as copies of relevant documents.  Sign and date below.    
 

 Yes   No 

1. 

 

Do you hold or have you ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice any health-

related profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction?  If you answered yes, provide the profession and state or 

jurisdiction.   
 

 LIST: _____________________________________________             
                                                                     

  

2. 

 

Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration, had an 
application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or reapply for a professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?     
                                                                         

  

3. 

 

Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, registration or 
other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to 
voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?     
                                                                                                                                  

  

4. 

 

Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational license, certificate, 
permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?              
                                                                

  

5. 

 

Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation without verdict or 
accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any drug law 
violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a 
court.   
 

  

6. 

 

Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction? 

 
  

7. 

 

Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a hospital or any health care facility?  

 
  

8. 

 

Have you had your DEA registration denied, revoked or restricted?        

                                              
  

 
9. 

 

Have you had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical Assistance agency, Medicare, 
third party payor or another authority?    
                                                                    

  

 
10. 

 

Have you been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with violating research protocols, falsifying research, 
or engaging in other research misconduct? 
 

  

11.  

 

Have you engaged in the intemperate or habitual use or abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or 
substances that may impair judgment or coordination? 
 

  

12. 

 

Since May 19, 2002, have you been the subject of a civil malpractice lawsuit?  If yes, please submit a copy of the entire 

Civil Complaint, which must include the filing date and the date you were served.  Submit a statement which 

includes complete details of the complaints that have been filed against you. 

If you previously reported the complaint(s) to the Board provide the docket number(s) _______________________ 
 

  

Verification of Information 
 
I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the 
criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa. C.S. § 4911.  I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of 
my knowledge, information and belief.   I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to 
authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation, or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration.   
 

 

 
Full Name 
 

Last First Middle 

 

 
Social Security # 
 

 
 

 
Date of Birth 
 

 

 

Name of  
University or  
School 
 

 
 

 
 
Year of Graduation 
 

 

 

Signature   
(Mandatory) 
 

 

 Date 
 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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VERIFICATION OF PRACTICE/NON-PRACTICE 
 

 

  

VVEERRIIFFIICCAATTIIOONN  OOFF  PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  //  NNOONN--PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  
  

******  YYoouurr  rreeaaccttiivvaattiioonn  ccaannnnoott  bbee  pprroocceesssseedd  uunnlleessss  tthhiiss  ppaaggee  iiss  ccoommpplleetteedd  ******  

 
 

 
Full Name 
 

Last First Middle 

 

 
License No. 
 

 
 

 
Telephone No. 
 

 

 

 
 

 

Be sure that you are familiar with the definition of your profession from the licensing law 

which pertains to the license/certificate you are reactivating.  THEN, answer the following 

questions. 
 

Yes No 

1. 

 

Have you engaged in or practiced in your profession in Pennsylvania since your license or certification 
lapsed or since you placed it on inactive status?    
 

  

2. 

 

Have you been employed by the federal government in the practice of your profession since your 
Pennsylvania license or certification lapsed or since you placed it on inactive status?   

                                                                             

  

 

 
I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I 
am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa. C.S. § 4911.  I verify that the statements in this 
application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.   I understand that false statements are made subject to the 
penalties of 18 Pa C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation, or denial of my license, 
certificate, permit or registration.   
 
 
 

Signature of Licensee                                                                                                                                                  Date 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
 

4 


