# Online Instructions for <u>GRADUATES</u> Applying for Exam and/or Graduate Temporary Practice Permit (TPP)

## Read this Entire Document Prior to Any Application Submission and Print/Retain for Reference.

- All fees are non-refundable and must be paid by credit or debit card. A U.S. Social Security Number (SSN) is required for an ONLINE application submission. Applicants without an SSN should upload a Waiver Form.
- A TPP (permit) is NOT a license but is required for an individual who wishes to practice as a graduate nurse during the period from the date of completion of their educational program to the notification of results of the licensing examination.
- Provide a recent Criminal History Records Check (CHRC) from the state police or other state agency for every state in which you have lived, worked, or completed professional training/studies for the past ten (10) years. The report(s) must be dated within 180 days of the date the application is submitted. For applicants living, working, or completing training/studies in Pennsylvania, your CHRC request will be automatically submitted to the Pennsylvania State Police upon submission of this application. The PATCH fee will be included at checkout. Your PA CHRC will be sent directly to the Board/Commission. You will be notified if additional action is required. For individuals living, working, or completing training/studies outside of Pennsylvania during the past ten (10) years, in lieu of obtaining individual state background checks, you may elect to provide BOTH a state CHRC from the state in which you currently reside AND your FBI Identity History Summary Check, available at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks

Please note: For applicants currently living, working, or completing training/studies in California, Arizona, or Ohio, due to the laws of these states, the Board is not an eligible recipient of CHRCs or your CHRC will not be issued to you for upload to the Board. Please obtain your Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Identity History Summary Check, available at the link noted above.

#### APPLYING FOR A LICENSE by EXAMINATION: PA Program Graduate - \$95.00 / Out-of-State Program Graduate - \$115.00

Step 1: Click on the link "Login" at https://www.pals.pa.gov

- Step 2: Login with your "User ID" and "Password." If you do not have one or have forgotten your information, follow the options on the menu to the right side of the page.
- Step 3: Once you are logged into your PALS dashboard, click on "Apply for New License" located at the bottom of the page. The screens that follow will be a series of questions to assist with obtaining the correct application.
  - Board/Commission Select State Board of Nursing
  - License Type Select Registered Nurse or Practical Nurse
  - Survey Please answer all questions on the survey to obtain the correct application and instructions.

**PLEASE NOTE:** You can apply for a Graduate Temporary Practice Permit by answering a question within the application. A fee of \$70.00 will be added to your account prior to payment. DO NOT SUBMIT A SEPARATE APPLICATION.

Step 4: Pearson VUE Registration (test administrator): To take the exam, register and pay the required fee (\$200 - debit or credit card only) at <u>http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex</u>. An email address is required to register. All correspondence from Pearson VUE will occur via email.

Candidates requesting testing accommodations: You must answer "YES" to the question on the application.

For the determination of accommodations, upload to your application a completed "Request for Accommodation Form" found on the Board website, along with a copy of an evaluation completed by a licensed physician, psychologist, certified registered nurse practitioner, physician assistant, optometrist, ophthalmologist or audiologist dated within the last 5 years from the date of the application.

- Step 5: Pearson VUE sends ATT: Once the evaluation is complete and you are deemed eligible to take the examination by the Board, Pearson VUE will email your ATT.
  - The ATT email contains important information, including the authorization number, candidate identification number and its expiration date. It is needed to schedule your test appointment. It is not necessary to take the ATT to the test center - only acceptable identification. Information about acceptable identification is available at the following: https://www.ncsbn.org/1221.htm. Your identification must have your correct legal name before you register with Pearson VUE.
  - The ATT validity dates CANNOT be extended for any reason. If you have not tested by the expiration date, you must re-register and repay the exam fee.

#### APPLYING FOR ONLY A GRADUATE TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMIT: - \$70.00

- Step 1: Click on the link "Login" at <a href="https://www.pals.pa.gov">https://www.pals.pa.gov</a>. Step 2: Login with your "User ID" and "Password." If you do not have one or have forgotten your information, follow the options on the Step 3: Once you are logged into your PALS dashboard, click on "Apply for New License" located at the bottom of the page.
- that follow will be a series of questions to assist with obtaining the correct application.
  - Board/Commission Select State Board of Nursing
  - License Type Select Graduate Registered Nurse Permit or Graduate Practical Nurse Permit
  - Obtained by Application

## **REQUIREMENT FOR ACT 31 OF 2014 TRAINING:**

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA) in conjunction with the Department of Human Services (DHS) is providing notice to all healthrelated licensees and funeral directors that are considered "mandatory reporters" under Section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. § 6311), as amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete <u>3 hours</u> of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure. Please review the Board website at <u>www.dos.pa.gov/nurse</u> under the link "Helpful Links" for further information on approved CE providers. Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will electronically submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board.

### ENGLISH PROFICIENCY REQUIREMENT:

If your nursing education program was not conducted in English, you must provide the Board with evidence of English proficiency by achieving a passing score on a Board-Approved exam. A list of Board-Approved English Proficiency Examinations is on our Board website at <u>www.dos.pa.gov/nurse</u> under the link "General Board Information." English Proficiency Test scores must be submitted directly to the Board from the testing agency.

## REQUIREMENT FOR COMPLETING THE LICENSURE EXAM WITHIN ONE YEAR:

Effective December 17, 2016, candidates for licensure must take the licensure examination for the first time within one year of completing their nursing education programs. Express permission must be granted by the Board to take the examination for the first time after the one-year period. Candidates will first be required to demonstrate that they were prevented from taking the examination by emergency, illness, military service, licensure in another state, or other good cause shown.

LEGAL QUESTIONS: If "YES" is checked for any legal question, upload:

- A detailed, signed and dated personal statement explaining the action, its background and any rehabilitation.
- Copies of criminal court documents.
- Certified copies of all disciplinary actions from the Boards that imposed action.

## ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGES:

- Applicant's legal name must be entered on the application.
- Licensees are responsible to advise the Board of any address or name change within 14 days of the change.
- Licenses/permits are not forwarded. Complete a Change of Name and/or Address located on your PALS dashboard whenever there is a change of name and/or address.

## NEW GRADUATE TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMIT (TPP) INFORMATION:

- Applications for a Graduate TPP can be submitted during the one-year period from completion of an approved nursing education program.
- The practice of nursing may begin after a TPP is issued by the Board. A TPP can be verified at <u>www.pals.pa.gov/verify</u>.
- Once the licensure exam is taken, the following will occur:
  - on passing the exam and meeting all licensure requirements, a license will be issued and any TPP that was issued will be marked Null and Void.
  - o on failing the exam, in PA, any TPP that was issued will automatically expire and all nursing
  - practice under that license type must cease immediately.
  - o on failing the exam, in any state or territory, an applicant is NOT eligible for a TPP.
- The graduate nurse who holds a TPP <u>MAY ONLY</u> practice under the supervision of an experienced Pennsylvania registered nurse who is physically present in the unit or area where the graduate nurse is practicing.
- A TPP may be extended for up to one year under certain circumstances by submitting the application found at <u>www.dos.pa.gov/nurse</u>.

## EXAM RESULTS:

- Exam results are mailed within 30 days of the test date.
- Candidates who PASS the exam are issued a license. A license can be verified at <u>www.pals.pa.gov/verify</u>.
- Candidates who FAIL the exam are sent a Candidate Performance Report (CPR) issued by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. This
  report is ONLY intended to provide indications of a candidate's strengths and weaknesses. The NCLEX is not graded in sections, only overall
  performance on the exam determines pass/fail status.
- Additional information regarding the exam can be found at <u>www.ncsbn.org</u>.

#### **RE-EXAM APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS (In-state or Out-of-State Applicants):**

- 1. Log in to your Pennsylvania Licensing System (PALS) account at <u>www.pals.pa.gov</u>, navigate to the Activities section of your dashboard and click on the pin to the right of your Examination Application to open the Re-Examination Application.
  - NEV is not required, as your education information has already been received.
  - Re-exam applicants previously answering "Yes" to any Criminal/Disciplinary History questions must submit documentation that no additional
    actions have occurred. Any new actions must be accompanied by the documentation required as stated within the criminal/disciplinary history
    section.
- 2. Register with Pearson VUE.
  - If you are not registered with Pearson VUE at the time we evaluate your application, you will receive a letter with instructions to register with Pearson VUE and to contact the Board. <u>To avoid delays, register immediately after submitting your application to the Board</u>.
  - A new appointment can be scheduled 45 days from last test date.
  - Accommodations: If applying for re-exam, the same accommodation(s) will be granted unless there is a modification to the original request. This requires a new form and evaluation to be submitted.