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Application for Licensure by Endorsement with Exam for Internationally Educated Practical Nurses 

 
PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY & RETAIN FOR REFERENCE 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION: 
• The practice of nursing in Pennsylvania (PA) without a valid PA Temporary Practice Permit (TPP) or license is illegal and 

prosecutable. 
• If you hold or ever held a PA practical nursing (PN) license, your LPN license must be reactivated.  DO NOT PROCEED with 

this application unless you are applying for a different license type.  
• Applicants must have completed an approved practical nursing (PN) program to be eligible for PN licensure in PA. Completion 

of a registered nursing (RN) program or any part of an RN program is not acceptable for PN licensure in PA. 
• Section 5 of the Practical Nurse Law (PN Law) and Section 21.158 of the Board regulations require that practical nursing 

programs consist of at least 1500 hours of instruction.  Continuing education hours and work experience hours in the role of a 
LPN may be used to meet any deficient hours related to your program. 
o A copy of the certificate(s) of completion is acceptable documentation.  If the coursework is documented in credit 

hours, please convert the credit hours to clock hours. Contact your course provider regarding this 
conversion.   

o Each hour worked as an LPN under a TPP or a LPN license in another state can be credited on an hourly basis. 
Acceptable documentation is limited to a letter received directly from your employer(s) verifying the dates of 
employment, the number of hours worked per week, and a brief description of the services provided as an LPN.  

INSTRUCTIONS: 
• Mail the completed application and fee to the Board at the address above. ATTN. Endorsement Area.   
• All questions must be answered completely and all fees submitted in order for the application to be processed. 
• To verify that a license was issued visit www.licensepa.state.pa.us. 
• Social Security Numbers must be provided. *If a Waiver Social Security Number form is submitted in lieu of a Social Security 

number, the form cannot be used to renew a license/certificate. 
• Applications must be received in the Board office within 90 days from the date the affidavit is signed. 
• Applications are valid for one year from the date the affidavit is signed. 
• When licenses/certificates are not issued within the one year, a new application, including fee, must be submitted. 
FEES: 
• Fee must be paid by personal check, cashier’s check or money order and must be made payable to the “Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania.” 
• Fees are non-refundable. 
• Cash and credit cards are not accepted. 
• Check/money orders drawn on a foreign bank are only acceptable when “US funds” are identified on the check/money order. 
• A $20.00 processing fee will be charged for a check/money order returned unpaid.  Applications will not be processed until the 

corrected fee is received. 
NAME / ADDRESS: 
• Applicant’s legal name must be entered on the application. 
• Licenses/permits are not forwarded. 
• Complete and submit the “Form to Request Change of Name and/or Address…” located on the Board’s website, whenever 

there is a change of name and/or address.  Licensees are responsible to advise the Board of any address or name change 
within 10 days of the change. 
 

QUESTIONS:  If “YES” was checked for any question in Section B, submit: 
• A detailed, signed and dated personal explanation explaining the action, its background and any rehabilitation. 
• A Criminal History Records Check (CHRC) from a State Law Enforcement Authority in all states where you lived in the 

last five years dated within 6 months of the date the application. (Applicable ONLY to #B5 and #B6) 
• Copies of criminal Court documents. (Applicable ONLY to #B5 and #B6) 
• Certified copies of all disciplinary actions from the Boards that imposed action (Applicable ONLY to #B2, #B3 and #B4 ). 

 
*Disclosing your Social Security Number on this application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal 
Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a). At the 
request of the Department of Public Welfare (DPW), the licensing boards must provide to DPW information prescribed by DPW about the licensee, 
including the social security number. In addition, Social Security Numbers are required in order for the Board to comply with the reporting requirements of 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Practitioner Data Bank. 
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Applicants for Initial Licensure in PA: 

If you are a graduate of an international practical nursing education program and are not licensed in any state, territory or 
possession of the United States submit the completed Application for Licensure by Endorsement with Exam for Internationally 
Educated Practical Nurses and the application fee of $135.00 to the Board office.  NOTE:  You are not eligible for a Temporary 
Practice Permit with this application. 

• If you do not have a Social Security Number, complete the Waiver of Social Security Number form.  State the
reason why you do not have a Social Security Number.

• At the same time you submit your application register to take the NCLEX®-PN exam with PearsonVue at
http://www.vue.com/nclex.   An email address is required to register.

o Download the NCLEX® Candidate Bulletin at www.ncsbn.org/1213.htm for detailed information on the
NCLEX® registration process, policies and rules.

o Applicants who qualify under the Americans with Disabilities Act for accommodation(s) to take the exam
must complete the Request for Accommodations form located at
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/document/1010419/requestforaccommodations_pdf.

• Register with Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools, International’s (CGFNS) at www.cgfns.org or (215)
349-8767 for the Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report Note:  It is recommended to begin this
process immediately.

o Request that CGFNS send the Professional Report directly from CGFNS to the PA State Board of Nursing.

o All questions related to CGFNS processes must be directed to CGFNS.

• Once the application is complete and reviewed by the Board to assure compliance with PA requirements for practical
nurse licensure, the Board will send PearsonVue your eligibility to test.  PearsonVue will then send you an Authorization
to Test (ATT) E-mail.

o The ATT is valid for 90 days and cannot be extended for any reason.

o Once you receive the ATT you may schedule the testing location and test date.

o Check the ATT to ensure that it reflects your name as it appears on your ID, the correct  authorization period, the
exam you registered to take, and if applicable, your approved accommodations for testing.

o The ATT email contains important information including the authorization number, candidate identification number
and its expiration date. It is needed to schedule your test appointment. It is not necessary to take the ATT to the
test center only acceptable identification: https://www.ncsbn.org/1221.htm

• The only method for registration and payment for NCLEX® examinations is via the PearsonVue website.  Only
credit or debit cards are accepted for payment.   Please refer to the NCLEX® website to review any changes:
https://www.ncsbn.org/nclex.htm 

• After you take the licensure examination:

o Allow 30 days to receive official results of the licensure exam by mail.

o Verify your license at www.licensepa.state.pa.us.
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Requirement for approved training in child abuse 
recognition and reporting 

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with 
the Department of Human Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related 
licensees and funeral directors that are considered “mandatory reporters” under 
section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. § 6311), as 
amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance 
of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training 
in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure. 
Please review the Board website for further information on approved CE providers.  
Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will electronically 
submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board.  Child Abuse Continuing 
Education Providers Information can be found here. 
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Application For Licensure By Endorsement With Exam For Internationally 
Educated Practical Nurses 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

Application Fee:  Practical Nurse (PN) License ($135.00) ______ 

SECTION A:  APPLICANT INFORMATION:  PRINT CLEARLY IN BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY. 

Name: 
Last First Middle Maiden 

List any other names you have used. 

Date of Birth: ____    U.S. Social Security Number:      ______ 
Month    Day   Year           If you do not have a U.S. social security number submit the Waiver of S.S. # form. 

Address: 
Street 

City State                        Zip/Postal Code                        Country (other than U.S.) 

( ) ___________      Email Address: _______________________________ 
 Daytime Phone # 

Original Licensure:  ____________________________________      _________________________   ______________________ 
    Country                                        Expiration Date                                       License # 

SECTION B:  QUESTIONS:  ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: 
 YES    NO 

1. 
Are you requesting testing with accommodations? 

Candidates requesting testing accommodations, must submit a completed Request for Accommodation Form, found 
on Board website 

2. Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, 
certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation 
issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of 
discipline? 

3. 
Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or 
occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 

4. 
Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, 
permit or registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed 
not to apply or reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 
registration in any state or jurisdiction?  
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Name:         SSN:         
 

  

            YES           NO 

5. 
Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received 
probation without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal 
charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note: You are not 
required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a 
court. 

 

  

6. 
Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or 
jurisdiction? 

 

  

7. 
Do you currently engage in, or have you ever engaged in, the intemperate or habitual use or 
abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or substances that may impair 
judgment or coordination?   

 

  

8. 
If yes, are you currently participating in the Pennsylvania Professional Health Monitoring 
Program? 

 

  

9. 
 Have you ever had your DEA registration denied, revoked or restricted? 

 

  

10. 
Have you ever had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical 
Assistance agency, Medicare, third party payor or another authority?  

 

  

11. 
Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a hospital 
or any health care facility?  

 

  

12. 
Have you ever been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with violating 
research protocols, falsifying research, or engaging in other research misconduct? 

 

  

 
 
 
SECTION C:  BASIC NURSING EDUCATION: 
 
 

Type of Program 
Check One:   Check One: 
 

RN ______               Degree:          Diploma_____     AD_____     BS_____     Other_______________ 
                       (Specify) 
PN ______                        Certificate_____ Other_______________ 
            (Specify) 

Name appearing on transcript:  

 
Full Name of School of Nursing (No abbreviations):   
 
                
 
Address of Program:  _______________________________________________________________________________ 
    City    State    Country 
 

Completion Date:  ____________________________________ 
                                          Month                            Day                         Year 
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Name:         SSN:         
 
 
SECTION D:  PROFESSIONAL INFORMATION:                   
 
 YES          NO 

1. 
Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or other 
authorization to practice a profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction? 

 

  

If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession and state or jurisdiction. Please do not abbreviate 
the profession. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SECTION E:  AFFIDAVIT:  READ, SIGN AND DATE.  ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS 
SECTION. 
 
I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or 
otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 
Pa.C.S. § 4911. 
I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.   I 
understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to 
authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration. 
 
 
Applicant’s Full Legal Signature          Date     
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

STATE / COUNTRY PROFESSION 
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STATE BOARD OF NURSING 
P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
 

PHONE:  (717) 783-7142               FAX:  (717) 783-0822 
www.dos.state.pa.us/nurse                   Email: st-nurse@pa.gov 
        

 
 
 

    WAIVER OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
 

VERIFICATION STATEMENT 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This is to verify that I do not have a social security number for the following reason(s): 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I verify that the statement made above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.   
I understand that any false statements made are subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. Section 4904 relating to  
unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in the suspension or revocation of my license. 

 
I will proceed to obtain a Social Security Number with all deliberate speed and provide the Pennsylvania State Board  
of Nursing with my Social Security Number upon receipt.  I understand that my license will not be renewed unless I 
provide proof of my Social Security Number. 

 
 
 
 

Applicant’s Signature        Date 
 

 
Name: 

Last     First     Middle 
 
 
Profession: 
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