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IINNIITTIIAALL  AAPPPPLLIICCAATTIIOONN  FFOORR  AA  NNUURRSSEE--MMIIDDWWIIFFEE  LLIICCEENNSSEE  
    

 

 
1. 

 

 

This license class does not include prescriptive authority.  If you wish to hold a certificate for prescriptive 
authority, you must be able to meet the requirements to obtain prescriptive authority and complete the Initial 
Application for Nurse-Midwife Prescriptive Authority. 
 

 

 
2. 

 

 

In addition to completing this application, you will also need to register a collaborative agreement with the 
Board.  You may not practice midwifery until a collaborative agreement has been registered with the Board. 
 

 

 
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE: 
 

 
1. 

 

 

Hold an active Pennsylvania Registered Nurse license. 
 

 

 
2. 

 

Successful completion of a midwifery program. 
 

 
3. 

 

 

Successfully pass the national certification exam administered by the American Midwifery Certification Board, 
Inc. 
 
 

4. 

 

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Human 
Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related licensees and funeral directors that are considered 
“mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. § 6311), as 
amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be 
required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements 
as a condition of licensure.  Please review the Board website for further information on approved CE providers.  
Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will electronically submit your name, date of 
attendance, etc., to the Board.  Child Abuse Continuing Education Providers Information can be found here. 
 

 

PLEASE NOTE:  If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to 
continue the application process, the Board shall require the applicant to submit a new application including the required 
fee.  In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the application 
cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance. 
 

 

APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: 
 

1. 

 

 

Submit the $50.00 fee, check or money order, made payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania."   FEES 
ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.   Check or money order must be in “US funds.”  Note:  A processing fee of 
$20.00 will be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason 
for non-payment.  Your cancelled check is your receipt of payment. 
 

 

2. 
 

Complete pages 1 and 2 of the application.   
 

  

http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
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3. 

 

 

If documents will be submitted to the Board under a name different from your present name, submit a copy of 
the legal document evidencing the name change (i.e., marriage license, divorce decree, naturalization, etc.). 
 
 

 4. 

 

Complete Section 1 of the Certification of Midwifery Education form and send to the midwifery program where 
you completed your education.  Section 2 should be completed by the school/program.  The midwifery 
program must return the completed form directly to the Board in an official school envelope. 
 

 6. 

 

Contact the American Midwifery Certification Board, Inc., and arrange for the verification of certification to be 
sent directly to the Board office in an official envelope.   
 

 7. 

 

Contact the state board office(s) where you hold or have ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or 
other authorization to practice a profession or occupation and request letters of good standing.  The letter 
must include the following:  license issue and expiration date, license status (current or expired) and 
disciplinary standing.  The letter(s) of good standing must be sent directly to the Board. 
   

 8. 

 

Attach a Curriculum Vitae listing all periods of employment or unemployment (i.e. child rearing, research, etc.) 
from graduation from midwifery school to date.  The list must be in chronological order, include the month and 
year and indicate the state/territory in which the employment occurred.   
 

 9. 

 

Provide an official notification of information (Self Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank.  Please 
refer to the NPDB website for additional information.  When you receive the "Response to your Self Query," 
forward the entire report directly to the Board Office.  You should make a copy for your records. 
 

10. 

 

Complete the form entitled Initial Collaborative Agreement for Nurse-Midwife License (see attached).  This 
form may be submitted separately from the Initial Application for a Nurse-Midwife License.  Original signatures 
are required.   
 

 

 

 

 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

1. 

 

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL DIRECTIONS.  ANY DISCREPANCIES WILL CAUSE A DELAY IN THE ISSUANCE 
OF A LICENSE.   
 

2. 

 

IF THIS APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETED WITHIN SIX MONTHS, UPDATES OF CERTAIN SECTIONS 
AND/OR SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS WILL BE REQUIRED. 
 

3. 

 

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO MAINTAIN A COPY OF THIS APPLICATION AND ALL DOCUMENTS 
SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD OR RECEIVED FROM THE BOARD. 
 

4. 

 

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE THIS PROFESSION IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA UNTIL 
THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF MEDICINE HAS ISSUED A LICENSE AND A COLLABORATIVE 
AGREEMENT HAS BEEN REGISTERED WITH THE BOARD.   
 

5. 

 

IN ORDER TO PRACTICE THIS PROFESSION IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, YOU 
MUST MAINTAIN MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE COVERAGE. 
 

6. 

 

ALL NURSE-MIDWIFE LICENSES WILL EXPIRE DECEMBER 31
ST

 OF AN EVEN-NUMBERED YEAR.  THE 
EXPIRATION DATE IS NOT DETERMINED BY THE ISSUE DATE. 
 

7. 

 

THE FEE SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION IS A PROCESSING FEE.   AT RENEWAL TIME, YOU 
WILL BE ASSESSED THE FULL RENEWAL FEE. 
 

8. 

 

IF THE APPLICATION PROCESS IS NOT COMPLETED WITHIN ONE YEAR, APPLICANTS WILL BE 
REQUIRED TO SUBMIT AN UPDATED APPLICATION (ANOTHER APPLICATION PROCESSING FEE) 
ALONG WITH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, AS NECESSARY. 
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1. 

 

 

Submit the $50 fee, check or money order, made payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania."    
 
FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.   Check or money order must be in “U.S. funds.”  Note:  A processing fee of 
$20.00 will be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-
payment.  Your cancelled check is your receipt of payment. 
 

 

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT  
(Please print or type) 

 

 

NAME: 
 

Last First Middle 

 

ADDRESS: 
 

Street 

City 

 
 

State ZIP 

 

DATE OF BIRTH: 
 

Month Day Year 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: 
   

 

PA REGISTERED NURSE LICENSE NO: 
 

 

 

PHONE NUMBER: 
 

  

 

EMAIL ADDRESS: 
 

 

 
 

If your supporting documents are listed under another name or names, please list below: 
 
 
Last                                                                                                                                     First                                                                                     Middle 
 
 

 

NAME & ADDRESS OF MIDWIFERY SCHOOL 
 

 

NAME OF MIDWIFERY SCHOOL: 
 

 

 

ADDRESS OF SCHOOL: 
 

                                                                                                    

 

DATES OF 
ATTENDANCE: 

 

FROM 

Month Day Year 

TO 

Month Day Year 

DATE OF 
GRADUATION: 

Month Day Year 
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LEGAL QUESTIONS 
 

 

You must answer the following questions.  If you answer "YES" to #2 through #12, provide complete details on 
a separate sheet as well as certified copies of relevant documents.   
 

 Yes No 

1 

Do you hold or have you ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a 
profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction?  If you answered yes, provide the profession and 
state or jurisdiction.   
LIST:  _______________________________________________________ 

  

2 
Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration, 
had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or reapply for a 
professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?  

  

3 
Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, 
registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any state or 
jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?                                                          

  

4 
Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational license, 
certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?                                                                              

  

5 

Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation without verdict 
or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, including 
any drug law violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that has 
been expunged by order of a court.                                                                       

  

6 Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?   

7 
Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a hospital or any health 
care facility?                                                                            

  

8 Have you had your DEA registration denied, revoked or restricted?                                                                              

9 
Have you had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical Assistance agency, 
Medicare, third party payor or another authority? 

  

10 
Have you been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with violating research protocols, 
falsifying research, or engaging in other research misconduct? 

  

11 
Have you engaged in, the intemperate or habitual use or abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or 
other drugs or substances that may impair judgment or coordination?                                                                 

  

12 

Have you been the subject of a civil malpractice lawsuit?  If yes, please submit a copy of the entire Civil 
Complaint, which must include the filing date and the date you were served.  Submit a statement 
which includes complete details of the complaints that have been filed against you. 

**If you previously reported the complaint to the Board provide the docket number _______________ 

  

 

SIGNED STATEMENT 
 

 

NOTICE:   Disclosing your Social Security Number on this application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements 
of the Federal Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa. 
C.S. § 4304.1(a).  At the request of the Department of Human Services, the licensing boards must provide to the Department of Human Services 
information prescribed by the Department of Human Services about the licensee, including the social security number.   In addition, Social 
Security Numbers are required in order for the Board to comply with the reporting requirements of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, National Practitioner Data Bank.     
 
 

I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any 
way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa. C.S. Section 4911.   I verify that the 
statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.   I understand that false statements are 
made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation 
or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration. 

 
 

_______________________________________________________________            ________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                                                                                     Date 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________ 
Printed Name of Applicant 
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PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF MEDICINE 
 

 

CCEERRTTIIFFIICCAATTIIOONN  OOFF  MMIIDDWWIIFFEERRYY  EEDDUUCCAATTIIOONN  
 

 

Complete Section 1 of this page and forward to the college or university where you completed your midwifery 
education. 
 

 

SECTION 1 – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 

 

NAME: 
 

Last First Middle 

 

ADDRESS: 
 

Street 

City 
 
 

State ZIP 

 

NAME OF MIDWIFERY SCHOOL: 
 

 

 

ADDRESS: 
 

Street 

City 
 
 

State ZIP 

 

Submit the certification of midwifery education form to your school and request the school return the 
completed form directly to the board in an official school envelope. 
 

 

SECTION 2 – TO BE COMPLETED BY DEAN OR REGISTRAR OF MIDWIFERY SCHOOL 
 

 

NAME OF MIDWIFERY SCHOOL: 
 

 

 

NAME OF STUDENT: 
 

Last First Middle 

 

DATE STUDENT BEGAN TO ATTEND THIS MIDWIFERY SCHOOL: 
 

Month Day Year 

 

DATE OF GRADUATION: 
 

Month Day Year 

 

I CERTIFY THAT ALL OF THE INFORMATION LISTED ABOVE IS CORRECT 
 

 

SIGNATURE OF DEAN, REGISTRAR OR OFFICIAL OF AN 
ACCREDITED INSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATION: 
 

 

 

DATE: 
 

Month Day Year 
 

 
 

Upon completion, the school must return this completed form directly to 
the Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine in an official school envelope. 
 
 
 
 

 

DO NOT RETURN THIS FORM  
TO THE APPLICANT 

 
 

(Seal of School) 
 

 

Regular Mailing Address 
STATE BOARD OF MEDICINE 

P.O. BOX 2649 
HARRISBURG, PA 17105-2649 

717-783-1400/717-787-2381 
 

Courier Delivery Address 
STATE BOARD OF MEDICINE 
2601 NORTH THIRD STREET 

HARRISBURG, PA  17110 
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IINNIITTIIAALL  CCOOLLLLAABBOORRAATTIIVVEE  AAGGRREEEEMMEENNTT  FFOORR  NNUURRSSEE--MMIIDDWWIIFFEE  LLIICCEENNSSEE  
 

 

IMPORTANT APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 

 
1. 

 

 

This application is only used for entering into the first nurse-midwife collaborative agreement.  A separate collaborative 
agreement must be submitted for each physician, physician group or service with which you will be entering into an 
agreement.  A new application is required for each additional collaborative agreement.   To register additional collaborative 
agreements, complete the application titled, Additional Collaborative Agreement for Nurse-Midwife License.  If making 
changes to an existing collaborative agreement, complete and submit the Collaborative Agreement Change Form. 
 

 
2. 
 

 

This application may be used to enter into a collaborative agreement with an allopathic or osteopathic physician licensed by 
the State Boards of Medicine or Osteopathic Medicine.  The physician must have hospital privileges (or a formal arrangement 
for patient admission to a hospital) and shall practice in the specialty area of the care for which the physician is providing 
collaborative services.   This collaborative agreement will NOT include prescriptive authority privileges.   
 

3. 
 

A copy of the collaborative agreement must be submitted with this application.   
 

4. 
 

Pennsylvania law requires you to maintain a copy of this application as well as your collaborative agreement.   
 

 

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE UNDER THIS COLLABORATIVE AGREEMENT UNTIL THE REGISTRATION IS 
COMPLETE AND FILED WITH THE BOARD. 
 

 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 
 

 

NURSE-MIDWIFE NAME: 
 

Last First Middle 

 

NURSE-MIDWIFE  
LICENSE NO: 

 

  

 

COLLABORATING 
PHYSICIAN NAME: 

 

Last First Middle 

 

PHYSICIAN LICENSE NO: 
 

  

 

This agreement contains the details of the collaborative arrangement between myself and the below-signed 
collaborating physician with respect to the care of midwifery patients. 

 

 

NURSE-MIDWIFE  
SIGNATURE: 

 

 Date 

 

This agreement contains the details of the collaborative arrangement between myself and the above-signed 
nurse-midwife with respect to the care of midwifery patients. 

 

 

COLLABORATING  
PHYSICIAN SIGNATURE: 

 

 Date 
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