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General FAQ 

 

Q. How can I contact the Board office? 

 

A. The email address is ra-massagetherapy@pa.gov.  

 The phone number is 717-783-7155. 

 

Q. What is the Board’s website for Massage Therapy? 

 

A. The website is www.dos.pa.gov/massagetherapy . 

 

Q. Where can I find the rules and regulations? 

 

A. The Law and Regulations are posted on the board’s website at www.dos.pa.gov/massagetherapy.       

 

Q. Where can I find the applications to apply for licensure? 

 

A. They can be found on the board’s website at www.dos.pa.gov/massagetherapy 

 

Q. Where can I find information about the examinations? 

 

A. As of November 1, 2014, The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodyworks 

 (NCBTMB) will no longer offer an examination.   Individuals who previously took the National 

 Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) or National Certification Examination or 

 Therapeutic Massage and Bodyworks (NCETMB) examination including the NESL option, offered by 

 the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage Boards (NCBTMB) shall contact the 

 NCBTMB directly at  www.ncbtmb.org or 1-800-296-0664 to request their results be released to the 

 Pennsylvania Board.   

  

 Individuals planning to take the MBLEx offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards 

 (FSMTB) shall contact the FSMTB directly at www.fsmtb.org or 1-866-962-3926 to apply for the 

 examination.     

 

Q. Can I take an online CPR course to fulfill the CPR certification? 

 

A. No, online CPR course are not acceptable.  Courses must be hands-on taken through the American Heart 

Association, American Red Cross or an agency substantially similar approved by the Board. CPR 

certification is not counted towards fulfillment of the required credits.  

 

Q. What CPR course do I need to take for licensure? 

 

A. Basic Adult CPR will be accepted.   You may take additional training as long as the adult CPR is included 

in your class. 
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Q. How long will it take for the licensure process? 

 

A. It depends on the volume of mail that we receive and whether or not all your documents arrived from all 

third party sources.  It can take from 10-15 business days for an initial review of your application once it 

arrives in the office.  All mail is processed in date received order. 

  

 

Q. I am licensed in another state, must I take an examination in order to apply by reciprocity? 

 

A. Yes, you must meet all of the reciprocity requirements which include having passed one of the accepted 

examinations.   You must also have completed a massage educational program of at least 600 hours.   For 

those whose program was 500 hours or more, you can make up the additional hours by completing contact 

hours to fulfill the 600 hour requirement. When completed, the 600 hours of education must meet the 

education requirements found at Section 20.11 of the Board’s regulations. 

 

Q. The PA State Police will not send the report to anyone but the requestor.  Will you accept this report 

from me? 

 

A. Yes, when you get the report from the Pennsylvania State Police,   you will forward the report with your 

application to the Board and we will accept it from you.    The criminal background check can be obtained 

online using the Pennsylvania Access to the Criminal History (PATCH) System at 

https://epatch.state.pa.us.    OR, the Request for Criminal History Record Check form is available online 

at www.psp.state.pa.us.   The applicant must complete Part I of the form and mail it directly to the State 

Police at the address listed on the form.   To check on the status of a request, for a Pennsylvania State 

Police Request for Criminal History Record Check call 717-783-9973. 

 

Q. My school has closed and I don’t know how to get my education verified? 

 

A. You need to locate the custodian of records for the school and have them complete the verification of 

education form.     If you are not able to locate the custodian of records, you can contact the Department 

of Education at 717-783-6788 for this information.   If your education was outside of PA, you will have 

to check with the Department of Education for that state to see who holds the records for that school. 

 

Q. What will happen to my application if all documentation doesn’t arrive within 6 months and my 

license doesn’t get issued in that time frame? 

 

A. You will need to send another application and fee.  In addition, any documents that have also become 

outdated by 6 months must be resent to the Board. 

 

Q. I requested some third party documents be sent to the Board.   What if they arrive at a different 

time than my application? 

 

A. A miscellaneous file for any documents received separate from the application is maintained and matched 

to the applications as they are received. 

 

Q. Some of my documents are in a different name, how will you know they belong to my application? 

 

A.    If you have documents in different names, you must provide us with a legal name change document(s) 

(such as a marriage certificates or divorce decree, etc.) that shows the name change(s).     You should also 

have that on the application so we can try to match those documents to your application. 
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Q. How do I get my license back to an active status after it has expired or been placed inactive? 

 

A. The reactivation application needs to be completed with all supporting documentation.   The reactivation 

application can be found at www.dos.pa.gov/massagetherapy.   You must have all 24 hours of continuing 

education completed prior to reactivating the license.   The continuing education cannot have been done 

more than 2 years prior to the date of reactivation. 

 

Q. How long can I have my license on an inactive/expired status? 

 

A. A license that has been inactive/expired for more than 5 years may be required to meet competency 

requirements as set by the Board. 

 

Q. What are the professional organizations recognized by the Board? 

 

A. ABMP- Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals,  25188 Genesee Trail Road,  Golden, CO    

80401.  Phone: 1-800-458-2267.  Website:   www.abmp.com  Email: expectmore@abmp.com.     

 

 AMTA- American Massage Therapy Association,  500 Davis Street, Evanston, IL  60201.  Phone: 1-877-

905-2700.  Website:  www.amtamassage.org    Email:  info@amtamassage.org     
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