LICENSEE SEEKING MANDATED REPORTER TRAINING UNDER ACT 31 OF 2014 RELATING TO CHILD ABUSE RECOGNITION AND REPORTING:

Mandated reporter child abuse recognition and reporting training is now required under Act 31 of 2014. At this time, the Board has approved several training providers. A complete list of approved providers can be found on our website at the link entitled, "Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training Under Act 31 of 2014." As additional providers are approved, the Board will provide updated information to applicants and licensees on its website.

The Board has also been informed that the Department of Human Services, in conjunction with University of Pittsburgh and the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center, is in the process of developing a 3-hour online training program which will be offered free of charge to assist individuals in complying with the training requirements under Act 31of 2014. They anticipate the program will be ready to be released by late November of 2014. Again, as more information becomes available, the Board will provide updates on its website.

ORGANIZATIONS, ENTITIES OR INDIVIDUALS WHO WANT TO BE AN APPROVED TRAINING PROVIDER UNDER ACT 31 RELATING TO CHILD ABUSE RECOGNITION AND REPORTING FOR MANDATORY REPORTERS:

The procedures to submit a course for DHS approval is set forth in the attachment entitled "Submission Procedure to the Department of Human Services Regarding Course Approval for Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training for Mandated Reporters." More information regarding DHS's requirements for approved courses is found in the attachment entitled "Department of Human Services Course Approval Outline for Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training for Mandated Reporters."

Please note that under Act 31of 2014, effective January 1, 2015, applicants for licensure by any of the health-related licensure boards and the State Board of Funeral Directors must demonstrate that they have completed 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting. It is this pre-licensure training that requires only DHS approval. No approval by the Department of State or any of its licensing boards under the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs is required. Applicants will be required to produce documentation evidencing completion of the training as a condition of licensure.

Conversely, under Act 31 current licensees of the health-related boards and the State Board of Funeral Directors must complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting as a condition of renewal of a license after December 31, 2014. Those organizations, entities and individuals that are seeking "Board approval" must submit the required course materials to both DHS and the Department of State's Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs as set forth in the attached "Submission Procedures." Board approved course providers will be provided a secure sFTP site through which to submit attendance/participation records electronically. Thus, the ability to report attendance/participation electronically is a condition of Board approval.

For more information regarding the electronic reporting requirement see the attachment entitled "Pennsylvania Department of State (DOS) Child Abuse Training Vendor Process" and the attached Excel spreadsheet. Technical assistance related to the use of the sFTP site or the DOS standards for submission of the electronic data, applicants may contact the DOS help desk at state.pa.us.