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PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY 
 

Instructions and Application Form 
 

 
Introduction: 
 
Please read the following instructions in their entirety.  These instructions will assist in the application process for 
an initial license to practice dentistry in Pennsylvania.  The checklist format will assist you in requesting and 
submitting the appropriate documentation necessary to meet the licensure requirements.     
 
There are two methods by which you may apply for your Pennsylvania dental license.   

 
Licensure by Examination is for applicants who have successfully completed one of the following regional 
board clinical examinations:  CDCA (formerly NERB), CRDTS, WREB, SRTA, or CITA.   
 
Licensure by Criteria Approval is for applicants who have obtained a license in another state based on 
completion of that state’s clinical examination. That state must: 
 

1) Provide information that the State clinical examination required for licensure is comparable to 
the CDCA Examination. 

2) Provide certification of your examination scores. 
3) Have requirements for licensure that meet or exceed the standards for licensure in Pennsylvania. 
4) Submit certification that it will reciprocate with Pennsylvania on the basis of criteria approval. 

 
Instructions Checklist 

 
The following documents are required for a license to practice dentistry: 
 
A.        Application Forms – Pages 1 & 2  
 

Page 1 – Method of Application 
 
Submit a check or money order in the amount of $200.00 made payable to the “Commonwealth of PA”.     

 
Note:  Do not send cash.  Application fees are non-refundable.  Check or money order must be drawn on a 
U.S. bank.   A processing fee of $20.00 will be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by 
your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment.  

 
 
 Page 1 – Applicant Information   
 
  Verification of Name:  
 

If any document required for licensure is in a name other than the name under which you applied, a 
photocopy of the appropriate name change document must be attached.  The only documents 
accepted by the Board are a marriage certificate, a divorce decree that reflects the retaking of a 
maiden name, or court issued legal name change document.   
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Social Security Number: 

   
NOTICE:  Disclosing your Social Security Number on this application is mandatory in order for the 
State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal Social Security Act pertaining to Child 
Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. 
§4304.1(a).   At the request of the Department of Human Services (DHS), the licensing boards must 
provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the social security 
number.  In addition, Social Security Numbers are required in order for the Board to comply with the 
reporting requirements of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Practitioner 
Data Bank.    

   
Page 1 – Current or Previous Licensure History  

 
List each state or jurisdiction where you have ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or 
other authorization to practice any profession or occupation whether active or inactive, current or 
expired.   
 

Page 2 – Practice Activity 
 
If you have engaged in the practice of dentistry since graduation from dental school, you must 
submit a curriculum vitae (resume) of your practice activities from graduation through the present.  
Practice activities should be listed in chronological order, include the name, city and state of the 
employer, dates of employment (month and year) and a description of the practice activity.   If you 
did not practice during a specific time period, the timeframe should be documented as “no practice in 
dentistry”.    Note:    Practice activity should include any advanced education/residency programs. 

 
 
Page 2 – Personal History Information 

 
If you respond “YES” to any of the personal history questions, you must submit the following: 
 
• A written letter of explanation must be submitted to the Board outlining the details of the “YES” 

response(s).  
 

• Certified copies of the record relating to the action taken.  It is your responsibility to request and 
submit certified copies of court documents directly to the Board office.  If you have been 
disciplined by another state licensing board, certified copies of the disciplinary record must be 
submitted directly to the Board office in a sealed official state board envelope.  

 
        Page 2 - Certification Statement  
 

Please read the certification statement in its entirety, sign and date. 
 
B.        Certification of Graduation – Page 3  
 

The dentistry school must complete the Certification of Graduation form, (page 3) of the application and 
return the completed form directly to the Board office in a sealed official school envelope.  Do not submit 
transcripts.  Note:  The form cannot be completed, signed, or postmarked prior to graduation.   
 
Candidates for licensure as a dentist must have graduated from a dentistry program accredited by the 
Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  Certification of Graduation from a foreign 
educational program does not meet the educational qualifications for licensure in Pennsylvania.  A 
candidate that has received their professional education outside of the United States in a non-accredited 
school must conform to Section 33.102(a)(2) of the Board’s Regulations.   
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C.        Clinical Examination  
 

Applicants by EXAMINATION – For applicants who have successfully completed CDCA (formerly 
NERB), WREB, CRDTS, SRTA, or CITA – follow the instructions outlined below for Examination 
Results.  (If you completed a State clinical examination, please follow the instructions for Criteria 
Approval listed below). 

 
 Examination Results 
 

CDCA:  The Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry has CDCA (formerly NERB) examination scores from 
1979 through the present on file in the Board office.  Therefore, scores should be available upon receipt of 
your application.  If you took the CDCA examination prior to 1979, you must request the CDCA to forward a 
report of your grades directly to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry.  To make your request, contact 
the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments, 1304 Concourse Drive, Suite 100, Linthicum, MD  
21090. Telephone Number: (301) 563-3300.   Email:  director@cdcaexams.org  
 
CRDTS, CITA, SRTA or WREB:  You must contact the testing agency to have your detailed examination 
results submitted directly to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry.   
 
To make your request, contact: 
 

CRDTS Central Regional Dental Testing Service 
1725 Gage Blvd. 
Topeka, KS  66604 

785-273-0380 

CITA Council of Interstate Testing Agencies 
1003 High House Road, Suite 101 
Cary, NC  27513 

919-460-7750 

SRTA Southern Regional Testing Agency 
4698 Honeygrove Road, Suite 2 
Virginia Beach, VA  23455 

757-318-9082 

WREB Western Regional Examining Board 
23460 N 19th Avenue, Suite 210 
Phoenix, AZ  85027 

602-944-3315 

 
OR 

 
Applicants by CRITERIA APPROVAL – For applicants licensed in another state, who have completed a 
State clinical examination for licensure in that state:   

 
• Request the Dental Board in the state where you are licensed to forward a certification directly 

to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry in a sealed official envelope confirming that the 
state would consider Pennsylvania applicants for licensure in that state on the basis of criteria 
approval (reciprocity).   The certification letter must be signed by an authorized official of the 
State Board contain the official seal of the state licensing board.     

 
• Request the Dental Board in the state where you are licensed to forward the requirements for 

licensure in that state.  
 

• Request an official certification of your examination scores for the clinical examination you 
completed for licensure in that state.  The scores must include the specific components of the 
examination, the score obtained in each section of the examination and the maximum points 
possible in each section of the examination.     

 

 

mailto:director@cdcaexams.org


Dentist (Rev. 04/2016)     
 
D.        National Board Scores   
 

The applicant must request the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations to forward a report of 
your written grades directly to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry.  A photocopy or candidate 
copy is not acceptable.  Scores are retained in the Board office for one (1) year from the date the scores are 
received.  If you previously requested scores be sent to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry more than 
one (1) year ago, you must request a new report of your written grades to be forwarded directly to the Board 
office.  To make your request, contact the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations, 211 East 
Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611.  Telephone Number:  1-800-232-1694.  Email:   nbexams@ada.org   

 
 
E.        Verification of Licensure  
 

Request a letter of good standing from each state or jurisdiction where you have ever held a license, 
certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice any profession or occupation whether active 
or inactive, current or expired.   The letter(s) of good standing must contain the proper signature, date and 
seal of the licensing authority and must be sent directly to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry in a 
sealed official envelope of the state licensing board.  
 
Note:  If you have been disciplined by a state licensing board, the letter of good standing must include 
certified copies of the disciplinary record. 
 

 
F. National Practitioner Data Bank / Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank  
 

You must obtain a Self-Query through the National Practitioner Data Bank / Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank.   To request a self-query, go to www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov.   
 
Once the report is completed and available, you must print the report from the above-listed website and 
submit directly to the Board office.   
 

 
G.  CPR Certification 
 

Attach a photocopy of your current CPR certification card (front and back).  The card must show current 
certification in Infant, Child and Adult CPR through an approved provider in accordance with the Board’s 
Regulations.  Note:  Online CPR certification courses are not accepted.  The photocopy must be 
submitted on an 8 ½ x 11 sheet of paper.   

 
 
H.  Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Requirements Continuing Education 
 

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Human 
Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related licensees and funeral directors that are considered 
“mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. § 6311), as 
amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be 
required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting 
requirements as a condition of licensure.  Please review the Board website for further information on 
approved CE providers.  Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will electronically submit 
your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board.   

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:nbexams@ada.org
http://www.npdb-hipdb.com/
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I.  Board Office  
 

Mail your fee, pages 1 and 2 of your application, CPR certification, data bank self-query response, and if 
necessary, a copy of your name change document, directly to the Board office: 

 
 Mailing Address     Street Address (Courier Delivery) 
 State Board of Dentistry     State Board of Dentistry 
 P.O. Box 2649      One Penn Center 
 Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649    2601 North Third Street 
        Harrisburg, PA  17110 
  

All other documentation must be submitted directly from the certifying state board, educational  
institution and/or organization.  

 
 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

• You may not practice dentistry in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania until the Pennsylvania State Board of 
Dentistry has issued a license.   
 

• Under the Dental Law, in order to practice dentistry in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, you are 
required to have medical professional liability insurance in the minimum of one million dollars 
($1,000,000) per occurrence or claim and three million dollars ($3,000,000) per annual aggregate. 

 
Acceptable coverage shall include:  

 
1) Personally purchased medical professional liability insurance;  
2) Self-insurance; 
3) Medical professional liability insurance coverage provided by the dentist’s employer; or  
4) Medical professional liability insurance coverage provided by the community-based clinic for dentists with a 

volunteer license.  
 

Therefore, you have 60 days from the date your license is issued to provide proof of acceptable 
coverage which may include a certificate of insurance issued by the insurer or a copy of the declarations page of 
the professional liability insurance policy.  For professional liability insurance coverage through the dentist’s 
employer, documentation must reflect you as a named insured.  Failure to do so may result in your professional 
license being refused, revoked or suspended by the Board.   
 

• It is your responsibility to maintain a copy of this application for future reference.   
 

• The Board’s application forms must be submitted in their original format and may not be altered.  Altered forms 
will be rejected and cause further delay in the processing of your application.   

 
• The Board office does not verify receipt of mail.  Processing time varies depending upon the workload.  Average 

processing time upon receipt of all required documentation is approximately 10-15 business days. However, 
during busy periods (i.e. renewal, graduation, etc.) and for applications that require Board review, processing times may 
exceed the 10-15 business days. 

 
• Once your application has been processed, you may check on the status of your application and/or issuance of 

your license through the Board’s website at www.mylicense.state.pa.us.   
 

• Should the application not be completed within six months, updated documentation may be required.  
Additionally, if the application process has not been completed within one year from the date it was received, 
applicants will be required to submit an updated application-processing fee.   

 
• All licenses, regardless of the date of issuance, expire on March 31st of the odd-numbered years.   

 
• The Dental Law and Regulations requires that you maintain current infant, child and adult CPR certification.  

 
• The Board’s Regulations require dentists to complete 30 credit hours each biennial period.  The specific 

regulations pertaining to continuing education are available at www.dos.pa.gov/dent.   
 

 

http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/dent
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PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
Telephone:  717-783-7162                                               Website:  www.dos.pa.gov/dent  
Facsimile:  717-787-7769                                                  Email:    st-dentistry@pa.gov   

 
APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY 

 
METHOD OF APPLICATION 
 

Please check one of the following:              Examination ($200.00)                   Criteria Approval ($200.00) 
APPLICANT INFORMATION  
    
 
NAME:    _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                  LAST                                                                        FIRST                                                                 MIDDLE                           
 
ADDRESS:   ______________________________________________________________________________________________  
                                  STREET 
                          
                      ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                 CITY                                                                                             STATE                                                ZIP CODE 
 
 
U.S. Social Security Number:                     –                    –                                  *ETIN or SIN cannot be accepted. 
 
Date of Birth:                     –                –                           Telephone Number:    (             )                     –  
 
Email:   
 
Did you take the National Board examination?                                         Yes              or        No                                     
 
Regional examination completed (circle one):                CDCA          CRDTS          CITA          SRTA          WREB               
                                                                                                (formerly NERB) 
                                or 
 
State Clinical Examination completed:                          _______________________________________________________ 
 
Please specify the date(s):                                               Month_________________________Year____________________ 
 
If any document required for licensure is in a name other than above, please indicate the name(s).  A copy of the 
appropriate name change document must be attached. ________________________________________________________ 
 
CURRENT OR PREVIOUS LICENSURE HISTORY 
                                                                                                                                                                       Yes           No 
Have you ever possessed a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to  
practice any profession or occupation (active or inactive, current or expired) in another state  
or jurisdiction?   
 
If “yes”, please list below.   You will need to request a letter of good standing from each state licensing board.   
 

State or Jurisdiction  Active or Inactive  Type of License 
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http://www.dos.pa.gov/dent
mailto:st-dentistry@pa.gov


Dentist (Rev. 04/2016)     
 

PRACTICE ACTIVITY  
                                                                                                                                                                                    Yes              No 
Have you engaged in the practice of dentistry since gradation from dental school? 
(This includes advanced education/post-graduate training) 
 
If “yes”, you must submit a curriculum vitae (resume) of your practice activities from graduation through the present.  
Practice activities should be listed in chronological order, include the name, city and state of the employer, dates of employment 
(month and year) and a description of the practice activity.   If you did not practice during a specific time period, the timeframe 
should be documented as “no practice in dentistry”.   Note:    Practice activity should include any advanced education/residency 
programs. 
PERSONAL HISTORY INFORMATION 
Please check Yes or No to each of the following questions:  

 
1) Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, 

permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any 
state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline? 

 

YES 
 
 

NO 

2) Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 
 

  

3) Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 
registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or 
reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or 
jurisdiction? 
 

  

4) Have you been convicted (found guilty or pleaded guilty or entered a plea of nolo contendere), 
received probation without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal 
charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note:  You are not required to 
disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a court.   

 

  

5) Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction? 
 

  

6) Have you had your DEA registration denied, revoked suspended or restricted or have you had your 
provider privileges terminated by any medical assistance agency for cause?  
  

   

7) Have you ever had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical 
Assistance agency, Medicare, third party payor or another authority?  
  

  

8) Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a hospital or any 
health care facility?  
 

  

9) Have you ever been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with violating research 
protocols, falsifying research, or engaging in other research misconduct? 
  

  

10) Do you currently engage in, or have you ever engaged in, the intemperate or habitual use or abuse of 
alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or substances that may impair judgment or 
coordination?  
 

 
 
 

 
 

 

VERIFICATION STATEMENT 
 
By signing below, I verify that this form is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been 
altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information 
pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S.§4911.   
 
Additionally, I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and 
belief, and that I am of good moral character.  I understand that any false statement made is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. 
C.S.§4904 relating to unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of my license, 
certificate, permit or registration.    
 
Signature of Applicant:  _______________________________________________________  Date:  _____________________  
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STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY                                                        APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO PRACTICE  
P.O. BOX 2649                                                                                                  DENTISTRY IN PENNSYLVANIA  
HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
 

CERTIFICATION OF GRADUATION 
 

 
Section A – To be completed by the applicant: 
 
    
 
NAME:    _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                  LAST                                                                        FIRST                                                                 MIDDLE                           
 
ADDRESS:   ______________________________________________________________________________________________  
                                  STREET 
                          
                      ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                 CITY                                                                                             STATE                                                ZIP CODE 
 

 
Section B – To be completed by the proper official of the school: 

 
**Applicants may not complete this section of the certification form** 

 
 
I certify that _____________________________________________________________ successfully completed the required  
                                            Name of Applicant 
 
courses in the study of dentistry and was graduated from the following program: 
 
 
 
Name of Dentistry School:  ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
City and State:  __________________________________________   Date of Graduation:  ________________________________ 
 
 
Please verify degree by checking one of the following:            DMD degree            DDS degree 
 
I further certify that this dentistry education program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association. 
 
 
                                                                                                   ______________________________________________________________  
                                                                                                                         Signature of Proper Official of School 
 
                                                                                                  ______________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                                     Date 
  
       (  SEAL OF  SCHOOL ) 
 
 
 
*FORM MUST BE RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE BOARD OFFICE IN A SEALED OFFICIAL SCHOOL ENVELOPE 
 

(Note:  Form may not be completed, signed, or submitted prior to graduation) 
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