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SSTTAATTEE  BBOOAARRDD  OOFF  BBAARRBBEERR  EEXXAAMMIINNEERRSS  
  

  

  

  

    
 
  

 

               

     LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY APPLICATION 

                                           Instructions and Requirements 

PLEASE NOTE: this application is active for six months from the date of receipt in the Board office.  If the application has not been 

successfully processed by that time, it will be necessary to re-apply with a new fee. 

To obtain a license by reciprocity, you must submit this application and all required documents.  Send this 
application and all required attachments to the address at the top of this page. 
 

PLEASE ALLOW AT LEAST FOUR WEEKS FOR PROCESSING. 
 

QUALIFICATIONS 

 

TToo  qquuaalliiffyy  ffoorr  lliicceennssuurree by reciprocity (without examination), you must have a current (not expired and not 

inactive) license in one of the following states: CALIFORNIA, DELAWARE, IDAHO, KANSAS, MAINE, 
MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH 

DAKOTA and VIRGINIA. 
 

IIff  yyoouu  aarree  lliicceennsseedd  iinn  oonnee  ooff  tthhee  aabboovvee  ssttaatteess  bbuutt  ddoo  nnoott  hhoolldd  aa  ccuurrrreenntt  ((nnoott  eexxppiirreedd  aanndd  nnoott  iinnaaccttiivvee))  

lliicceennssee,,  yyoouu  ddoo  nnoott  qquuaalliiffyy  ffoorr  lliicceennssuurree  bbyy  rreecciipprroocciittyy.  DO NOT SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION.  Contact 
PearsonVue for an examination application at 1-866-474-1148 or www.pearsonvue.com to obtain an application 
to take the barber licensing examination as a new Pennsylvania candidate.  You must complete the entire 
examination (theory and practical) to obtain a Pennsylvania license. 
 

IIff  yyoouu  hhoolldd  aa  ccuurrrreenntt  ((nnoott  eexxppiirreedd  aanndd  nnoott  iinnaaccttiivvee))  lliicceennssee  iinn  aa  ssttaattee  ootthheerr  tthhaann  tthhoossee  lliisstteedd  aabboovvee,,  yyoouu  ddoo  

nnoott  qquuaalliiffyy  ffoorr  aa  lliicceennssee  bbyy  rreecciipprroocciittyy.  DO NOT SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION.   Contact PearsonVUE for 
an examination application at 1-866-474-1148 or www.pearsonvue.com to obtain an application to take the 
endorsement barber licensing examination.  This examination consists of 25 theory questions on Pennsylvania law 
and rules and regulations.   
 

REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS 

 
1.  FEE:  Include a check or money order, payable to “Commonwealth of PA” in the amount of $55.00.   
DO NOT SEND CASH. 

The required fee is a processing fee and is non-refundable.  This fee is required regardless of the issuance of a 
license.  Therefore, it is very important that you read the instructions carefully to make sure you qualify for licensure 
by reciprocity before sending your application and fee. 

Note:  A processing fee of $20.00 will be charged for any check or money order returned 
unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment. 

 
2. CERTIFICATION OF LICENSURE:  A certification of your license must be sent to this office directly 
from the state licensing agency where you now have a current license.  The state seal must be affixed and the 
certification must be currently dated (within 30 days of the receipt of your application).  Certifications will not be 
maintained in the board office beyond the allowable 30 days.  Certifications received from any other source other 
than the state licensing agency will not be accepted.  The certification from your state’s licensing authority is the 
only acceptable proof of licensure document - - your license, a copy of your license or any other document will not 
be accepted. 
 

I 

Mailing Address: 
State Board of Barber Examiners  

PO Box 2649 

Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649  

   

Courier Address: 
State Board of Barber Examiners 

2601 North Third Street 

Harrisburg, PA   17110  

 

Telephone:  717-783-3402 

Fax:  717-705-5540 
E-mail:  ra-barber@state.pa.us  

Website:  www.dos.state.pa.us/barber  

http://www.pearsonvue.com/
http://www.pearsonvue.com/
mailto:ra-barber@state.pa.us
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/barber
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STATE BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 
  

  

  

  

  

    
 
  

LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY APPLICATION 

Please print or type all information 

APPLICANT INFORMATION 

 
 
NAME:           Last _____________________________ First ____________________ M _________ 
 
 
ADDRESS:    Street _________________________________________________________________ 
 
                       City ____________________________ State _____________ Zip _________________ 
 
 
                        EMAIL:        _______________________ @ _____________________ 
 
TELEPHONE NUMBER  

(where you can be reached during daytime hours) 
 

                SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:                                          DATE OF BIRTH: 
 
 
 
 

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN ISSUED A PENNSYLVANIA BARBER LICENSE?           YES        N  NO 
(If YES, you do not qualify for licensure by reciprocity.  You must reactivate your existing barber 

 license.  Contact the Board office at 717-783-3402 for information on reactivating your license) 
 
DO YOU HOLD A CURRENT LICENSE IN A STATE WITH WHICH                       YES         N     NO 
PENNSYLVANIA HAS AN AGREEMENT OF RECIPROCITY?  
Refer to listing under Instruction Page “Qualifications”. 
If no, do not complete this application.  You do not qualify for licensure by reciprocity.  
 

IDENTIFY THE STATE WHERE YOU HOLD A CURRENT LICENSE: 

 

APPLICANT’S OATH 
 

By signing below, I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has 
not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public 
records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S. §4911. 
 
Additionally, I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, 
information and belief.  I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. §4904 (relating 
to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of my license, certificate, 
permit or registration. 

_________________________________              _______________________________ 

Signature of Applicant                                                   Date   
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Mailing Address: 
State Board of Barber Examiners  

PO Box 2649 

Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649  

   

Courier Address: 
State Board of Barber Examiners 

2601 North Third Street 

Harrisburg, PA   17110  

 

Telephone:  717-783-3402 

Fax:  717-705-5540 
E-mail:  ra-barber@state.pa.us  

Website:  www.dos.state.pa.us/barber  

mailto:ra-barber@state.pa.us
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/barber
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SOCIAL SECURITY ACT CERTIFICATION 

In order to comply with federal law, the State Board of Barber Examiners is obligated to 

inform each applicant or licensee from whom it requests a social security number that 

disclosing such number is mandatory in order for this Board to comply with the 

requirements of the federal Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as 

implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa. C.S. §4304.1(a). In order to 

enforce domestic support orders, at the request of the Commonwealth’s Department of 
Human Services (DHS), the licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by 

DHS about the licensee, including the social security number. 

 

 

LEGAL QUESTIONS 

You must answer all questions below.  You application will not be processed without answers to these questions. 
 

1. Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to 
practice a profession or occupation in any state of jurisdiction? 
             Yes                         No 
 
If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession and state or jurisdiction. 
 
Profession: ____________________________             State:  __________________________________ 
 

2. Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, 
registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any state or 
jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntarily surrender in lieu of discipline? 
             Yes                         No 
 
 

3. Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 
             Yes                         No 
 

4. Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 
registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or 
reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state? 
             Yes                         No 
 

5. Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere) received probation without 
verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or 
misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note:  You are not required to disclose any ARD or 
other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a court. 
             Yes                         No 
 

6. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction? 
             Yes                          No 

 

If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, provide complete details as well as certified copies of relevant 
documents. 

 
__________________________________________                      _____________________ 

Signature of Applicant                                                Date 
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