Amendment to the Pennsylvania CPA Law Eliminates “Attest Experience” from
Experience Requirement for CPA Certification

On June 19, 2013, Governor Corbett signed Act 15 of 2013, an amendment to the Pennsylvania
CPA Law. The amendment, in part, removes the specific requirement to obtain attest experience
as part of the overall experience requirement to obtain CPA certification in Pennsylvania.
Candidates for certification are still required to obtain either one year (1,600 hours) or two years
(3,200 hours) of general experience, depending upon whether the candidate is required to comply
with the 150 hour education requirement as stated in the CPA Law. The amendment only
removes the need to obtain either 400 or 800 hours of attest experience and does not change the
need to obtain either 1,600 or 3,200 hours of overall experience for certification.

The amendment was effective on August 18, 2013.

Candidates who previously submitted an application for certification with the Board and have
met all statutory requirements for certification were deemed approved for certification at that
time. Candidates who have been previously denied certification due to failure to meet the attest
activity requirement must resubmit a new application along with the appropriate fee after the
effective date of the amended Law. The new application for certification and verification of
experience forms are available on the Board website.

Please see the amendments to the CPA Law at:
http://www.leqis.state.pa.us/CFDOCS/Legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?txtType=PDF&sessYr=20
13&sessInd=0&billBody=H&bill Typ=B&bilINbr=0040&pn=0538 (Text that has been added to
the Law is underlined and text that has been removed from the Law is bracketed.)
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