Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of State > Other Services > Notaries > Notary Services > Application Information

Application Information

 

Checklist

 
 
 
  • Include your full first and last name (full middle name or middle initial is optional) or first initial, full middle and last name on the application
  • Include a check in the amount of $40.00 made payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania."  NOTE: Please do not staple your check or money order to the application.
  • Include proof of having completed a three hour preapproved mandatory notary education course within six months preceding application if required. 

Act 119 of 2014 removed the requirement for endorsement from the Notary Public Law.  Act 119 was signed into law on July 9, 2014 and will become effective on January 5, 2015.  Applications for appointment as a notary public submitted to the Department of State on or after January 5, 2015, will not be required to bear the endorsement of a state Senator. 

 

Applications for appointment or reappointment as a notary public may be obtained from the Department of State's Bureau of Commissions, Elections and Legislation by:

 
 
 
 
 
 

The completed application, accompanied by a nonrefundable filing fee of $40.00 payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania," should be sent to the following address:

 
 
 

Department of State
Bureau of Commissions, Elections and Legislation

210 North Office Building

Harrisburg, PA 17120-0029

 
 
 

Process

Applicants must use their full first and last name (full middle name or middle initial is optional) or first initial, full middle and last name on the application.  Neither initials alone nor a nickname will be accepted.  It is imperative that the information on the application be legibly written.
 
Act 119 of 2014 removed the requirement for endorsement from the Notary Public Law.  Act 119 was signed into law on July 9, 2014 and will become effective on January 5, 2015.  Applications for appointment as a notary public submitted to the Department of State on or after January 5, 2015, will not be required to bear the endorsement of a state Senator. 
 
Notary applicants for reappointment must continue to meet all of the requirements that initial applicants must meet, including completion of the three hour education requirement within six months prior to their reappointment. Applications for reappointment must be filed at least two to three months prior to the expiration date of a commission.
 
If the Secretary of the Commonwealth determines that the notary public applicant has fulfilled the requirements set forth in the amended Notary Public Law, the applicant will be notified of his/her appointment. The notary's commission is sent to the recorder of deeds in the county where the notary public will maintain an office. Within 45 days after his/her appointment, the appointee is required to execute a $10,000 bond, register his/her signature with the prothonotary of the county where the office is located, take and subscribe the constitutional oath of office, and record the bond, commission and oath of office in the recorder of deeds office. If all of these requirements are not met within the 45 day period, the commission becomes null and void and the application process must begin again.
 
After being appointed by the Secretary of the Commonwealth, some notaries public may wish to be able to process certain Pennsylvania Department of Transportation documents, such as titles, registrations and tags. These notaries public must register with the Regulated Client Services Section of PennDOT's Dealer Agent Services Unit, 1101 South Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17104. The Unit's phone number is (717) 787-7207.
 
The notary public commission expires four years after the date of appointment. At the end of that term, the notary public may be appointed to another four-year term. There is no limit to the number of consecutive terms that may be served.